One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

23/365: Thai Food Post-Op

I was actually a little excited about this surgery… before today. I wanted to experience what it would be like to be in an operating room, the lights, the machines, the beeps etc, as I’ve never had to go through anything like this before. I was given the option of getting some anti-anxiety meds before being put to sleep, but I declined because I was feeling really good. The guy next to me in the waiting room called it “happy juice” and the nurse laughed and agreed to the term.

So I’m waiting and waiting… and thinking and thinking…. and then the nurse comes and I change into goofy clothes and get my I.V. put in. Yeah. That sucks. Anyway, after that, in my head, I was like, “I want the Happy Juice, I want the Happy Juice!”  Epiphany: I’m a wuss…. and I don’t care.

Along comes Dr. Valdes, the anesthesiologist, and he gave me the happy juice through my I.V.  I remember talking about the little burn in my arm, the doctors big friendly smile, and I’m pretty sure before it kicked in, I thought Dr. Valdes was some form of happy god.  🙂

Next, I wake up, come home and go back to sleep.  When I wake up again, my wife is cooking me Thai food. What a woman!! I never got the experience I was expecting exactly, but really, why not take advantage of everything modern medicine has to offer? We’re not living in the medieval times, right? If I was, I’d probably have gotten drunk, asked a buddy with a sharp sword to slice and dice, and push my intestine back in with his dirty finger, and stitch me back up with twine.  And die three weeks later from infection.

Instead, I’m home and feeling pretty well (but sore), finished a fantastic meal and I’m going to go enjoy a pot of tea. Sorry I didn’t have any photos of my feet, like I was expecting. Maybe next time. Anyway, it’s the weekend, go take some pictures!

2 responses

  1. Ian

    Hey?
    No Friday Fact today but I will let you off due to your ardious day!!!

    But will be looking next week!! 😉

    February 27, 2010 at 8:11 am

    • Howard

      I’m afraid Friday’s Feckless Fact slipped my mind. I’m also afraid that it will continue to slip my mind each Friday, sorry Ian. Hope this doesn’t ruin your weekend, and next weekend… 😉

      February 27, 2010 at 8:46 am

Leave a Reply

