One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

22/365: Under The Knife

I’m going under the knife tomorrow morning to fix an umbilical hernia. That’s a hernia in/behind your belly button, to be medically accurate. Thankfully, it’s not in the groin area which is the most common place for hernias. So I guess I’m lucky!!

The following picture was  motivated by the thought that I will probably only be taking pictures of my feet for the next few days, the least I could do was try and capture a portrait while I’m still able. This is my sister in-law, Natasha. I eat at her house a lot. We have some pretty good ideas for a photo or two to shoot sometime soon. I wanted to do it this weekend, then she reminded me I’d be laid up.  So in the middle of making me dinner, I interrupted her and my wife so I could take a picture. Natasha is usually tolerant enough of me to pose every now and again, and today was no exception.

I had to take a picture, you see,  because the sun doesn’t go down until about 6 pm now, and I had about 20 minutes before that happened. It’s usually dark by the time I get off work, so I was pumped to take a picture in the (near) daylight. I missed the sunset, but the moon was hanging high. We jumped out on her back deck, and I, with Amy’s help, proceeded to blind her with my flash. Natasha is Hanna’s mom ( See February 9th, or click here for that blog post), and like Hanna, Natasha makes it very easy to take a good picture. Thanks sis. And thanks hon.

Ok, I’m finished this post and still got 25 minutes to spare before this day is over. Yay for me. I have to get some shut-eye so I can get up early, go to the hospital and be put back to sleep. Tomorrow is a big day of firsts for me.: General Anesthesia, I.V., hooked up to machines of every nature, operation…. a belly shave…

3 responses

  1. Ian

    Fantastic Photo today Howie, but I guess it’s easy with such a photogenic subject!!!

    Good luck with the Snip & Tuck!!!

    February 26, 2010 at 9:36 am

  2. labradormermaid

    best of luck with the surgery, ‘get well soon’.
    the picture reminds me of a female pilot from the earlier years, mostly because of the scarf. nice shot.

    February 26, 2010 at 10:15 am

    • Howard

      Thanks for the comments guys. Both of you are right, it was pretty easy photographing Natasha, and there is a classic look to it. I know what you’re saying Mandy, I never noticed it before, but the scarf does kind of give that look.

      February 26, 2010 at 9:14 pm

Leave a Reply

