One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

20/365: Green Tea Party

So first I was going to shoot a stir-fry my wife made, but man was I hungry! Forget the picture, I just dug right in (it looked too good!). Then I was going to go out for a cappuccino and take a picture, praying the cup would be nice, but I was just too full. I got the craving for some green tea and remembered my sister in-law Natasha bought us a cool little set a while back that we hadn’t used as of yet.

I really like green tea, sometimes with a bit of lemon and some honey, but lately it’s been just the green tea on it’s own. I really like it like that, because sometimes in the run of a day I won’t drink enough water, and when I have green tea it’s usually by the pot. This way I can get hydrated, have my cup of tea and it has virtually no calories.  As well ( I told myself I’d keep this post short, but…. I’m a bit of an advocate for green tea):  it’s the king/queen of antioxidants, increases your metabolism, has a little caffeine in it combined with a sweet tasting thing called theanine which soothes, giving you an alert calmness. Phew! There that’s out of my system. Sorry.

Back to the pictures. In the first one you can see a little steam rising out of the cup. I almost missed that little tidbit of photographic goodness and I’m glad I captured it. In the second and third pictures, there is light reflected in the tea. Obviously, it can’t be from the candle but it does add an element of atmosphere to the picture. I think so anyway. It is actually from the light in the range hood above the stove in the background. I noticed it when I was bobbing and weaving, trying for different angles.

Just one more thing, it’s been twenty days and I’ve been getting quite a few visitors, so thanks for all your support. Feel free to make comments, ask questions or let loose an opinion. Things like, “Can you stop writing so much?” and “I don’t care about green tea,” are all welcomed. Take care.

2 responses

  1. How about, “you should write more!” and “green tea is awesome!”

    Ha ha, good shots, as usual 🙂

    February 23, 2010 at 10:42 pm

    • sednaphotography

      The first half of your comment is a surprise, but welcomed. Thanks.

      February 23, 2010 at 11:01 pm

Leave a Reply

