One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

19/365: Night Sky

Night photography again. I had to take advantage of the beautiful night out there this evening. In fact, last night was the first night in over two weeks that I was able to see the stars. It’s been a much, much warmer February than normal (its been a little scary actually) and the amount of snow and rain has been ridiculous. As a consequence there has been very little sun, and nothing but clouds at night. It really starts to get to me after a while, being solar powered and all.

I figured I’d try some long shutter speeds and break out my mini tripod, go out on the back deck and snap a few frames. Just to see what happens. And by a long shutter speed, I mean 30 seconds long.   I don’t usually mess around with such a long shutter speed, and I’m amazed at how much light can be nabbed for a photo – almost looks like early evening in these pictures,  but it gets dark here at around 6 pm now, and these were taken at about 8pm. It wasn’t even all that bright of a night with a lot of cloud still in the sky, and most of it blocking out the moon.  It was a good night for an experiment though, just above freezing, and Dexter and I got to spend a little time outside together. Just two dudes, hanging out, enjoying the night air, listening to snow mobiles  zip around the neighborhood. Life is good, but I can’t wait for spring. Take care all.

4 responses

  1. Ha ha, these night shots put mine to shame! lol. The best place (in my opinion) to take night shots is up on base, turn in on your first left after entering the base, by the soccer fields.I just drive in around a few of the roads in there until I’m at a suitable place. There are no lights in there to interrupt the ‘perfect shot’. I’m new to trying out different shutter speeds, and perhaps I am just not in tune enough with my camera, but these shots are very very nice.

    February 23, 2010 at 10:34 am

    • Howard

      If you want to see an awesome night shot, look here: http://www.cineartphotography.com/blog

      This is a night shot in Varadero, Cuba. It was taken by our wedding photographer during one of her trips. She is absolutely awesome and definitely worth checking out. A really good person too.

      Thanks.

      February 23, 2010 at 12:29 pm

  2. Ian

    Great Shots Howie
    I agree with Mandy however there is too much “light pollution” here in town!!! We should venture out one evening and find a dark place to practice with settings!!
    I think I am getting the speed right but not sure what are the besf F settings for long exposure shots!!

    Cheers

    February 24, 2010 at 10:41 am

  3. Casey

    These are fantastic! Love them!

    February 25, 2010 at 4:18 pm

Leave a Reply

