One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

12/365: Ian

One of my sisters once told me that if you can do something for twelve days straight, you can do it forever. Quit smoking, exercise and eat right… a 365 Project. Ok, so I added that last one in myself.

But for some reason, this notion that if you can do something for 12 days then you can do it forever has stuck with me for years now. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve failed to follow this a bunch of times, but when I’m feeling like I don’t want to take a picture, maybe I’ll just keep repeating it to myself and it will motivate me. I think the key word in this potential mantra is this, you can do it forever, not you will do it forever. Everything we do, good or bad, is usually the fault of choice. But I will choose to finish this project. I made it 12 days and it hasn’t kicked my butt… yet. And this evening I really didn’t feel like taking a photograph. I won’t go into detail, but Dexter (my dog) chewed up something and I was frustrated and disappointed that he did that.  I know, that sounds silly, a dog will do what a dog will do. Clearly, just because he hasn’t chewed anything up in 12 days, doesn’t mean he will continue to not chew things up. We’ll blame his error on instinct though.

I had made arrangements to shoot some photos of my buddy Ian this evening, and thankfully I went through with it. It was a good time and really lifted my spirits. Ian had taken me under his wing last weekend and tried to teach me the rules of Rugby during the Wales vs. Scotland game. I’ll admit, it’s a  freakin’ complicated game, but it’s also a good time. Anyway, here’s Ian being a good sport.

Here’s Ian’s drink:

Ian, why don’t you do something unusual with that drink?

Uh oh, what’s he going to do!?

No joke, Ian balanced the glass on his head for at least 5 minutes. I was looking through the lens and not even taking pictures, just waiting for him to make a mess, but my arms got tired before he stopped balancing the glass. Thanks again, Ian.

Leave a Reply

