One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

7/365: Visionmongers

My wife has been out of town for the last little while so she couldn’t see my happy face when I received Visionmongers: Making A Life And A Living In Photography in the post office a couple days ago. She ordered it for my birthday, but it arrived a little late. Regardless, better late than never, and I love her for getting this book for me (she must love me too!!).  Thanks hon.

I have only read the first chapter yet, but I’m really excited to get at the meat and bones of this book.  Visionmongers isn’t a “how to” type of book, as such. It actually seems pretty… discouraging, in a way. The idea, I guess, is to be realistic about making a living as a photographer and entrepreneur. Regardless, I’m really looking forward to getting face and eyes into it when I’m finished this post. The thing is this: the author is sharing his knowledge through his story, and the stories and experiences of some fantastic photographers making a living and a life in photography today. I like it. Some of these photographers are Chase Jarvis and Zack Arias, a couple of my favorite photographers. I check out their sites and blogs pretty much everyday. And not only are these guys awesome, but they have taught me a lot through their sites and they really let you into what’s going on in their lives. Really cool.

Seeing how I haven’t read it yet, I’m not here to give a book review. I just wanted to let those who are interested know that this book is out there. To see if you might be interested in this book, you can read about it here.

One response

  1. Wife

    Yay! Glad you got it and will enjoy it 🙂

    February 11, 2010 at 1:06 pm

Leave a Reply

