One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

4/365: Self Portrait and Wet Weather

So four days in and already I have made a self portrait. It was actually way more fun than I thought it was going to be.  I have never really taken a picture of myself, and I’m glad I did this. I watched a six-part series on the BBC called The Genius of Photography a while ago, and one of the photographers they were talking about ( I can’t remember her name right now) essentially made a career out of self-portraits. She would change her appearance and recreate popular scenes from movies, or popular photographs (like Marilyn  Monroe with her dress blowing up), and she was able to pull it off. She was really convincing. She became so good at changing her appearance (sometimes she was a man, or Japanese, etc.) that no one really knew what she actually looked like. I thought it was interesting. Maybe she just didn’t like working with models or other people?

Below my self portrait is another photo. I took that picture around lunch time, and decided that I’m not stepping outside the door today. It’s not a blizzard or anything, but it suppose to get worse. I’m going to hang out with my dog, watch a movie or two, and drink lots of tea. I have a touch of the flu.

Leave a Reply

