One Year Of Photography by Howard Haby

361/365: Money Comparison & Bubbly Brunch.

Erica and Will took me and their friend, Beth out for Brunch on Sunday. During the course of this fantastic meal, I was posed with a question that I need some help with. Is it acceptable to consume six bottles of Champagne between four people during brunch on a Sunday? What if they were Mimosas and the restaurant was French?  That’s ok!? Good.

The food was excellent,  and while nobody really felt …. impaired, we did laugh a lot. It was such a good time, in fact, I believe it should be a Sunday tradition… well, at least once a month. Rule of thumb: three courses and a bottle per person then clear your afternoon schedule for cigars and Battlestar Galactica.

I thought the day couldn’t get any better until we went to Aunt Danielle’s house for fried chicken. I actually thought I had “fried chicken” before, but apparently not, because Aunt Danielle’s fried chicken was double-battered-crispy-goodness with a hint of fantastic that I’ve never tried before. Follow that up with a hilarity that only a browse through old photos can provide, and I would say it was a perfect ending to my trip to Texas

Off topic  (and because my photo today was of money) – Something I learned on my trip:

American Money - the one dollar …. it’s just paper. The rest of the bills are predictable, with you’re obligatory dead guy (as far as I can tell).

Canadian Money – the one dollar… looks like a gold coin!! And has a nickname – the Loonie! The Canadian twenty – it sports a holographic stripe and (drum roll please) The Queen!!  :)

Unfortunately, it costs $87 to put a holographic stripe on the $20 and, most of the time, it takes 13 Canadian 20’s to equal the value of 1 Amercian 20. Odd but true. *wink*

2 responses

  1. Will

    It should be known that here in the States we have a $1 coin as well, and ours has a randy ‘ol lady on it too (Le Statue of Liberté! As for 3D holograms on your $20? Well we saved that for the $100 bill. Our “new” twenty bill is 8 years old and the newer bill designs have changed since then.

    As for 6 bottles of champagne at brunch? I, of course, have never done such a thing. However, next Sunday I am willing to try!

    February 3, 2011 at 1:59 am

    • Howard

      Well said, Mr. Kinsey, thank you for setting me straight. Champagne brunch next Sunday (again)? You, sir, are a tease! Try the mussells and let me know how they are.

      February 3, 2011 at 9:08 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.